Award winners honoured at TTI AGM

16 June 2015

Award winners honoured at TTI AGM

The annual TTI awards were presented in Sport HQ over the weekend, as recipients were honoured in front of the audience gathered for this years AGM.

12 awards were presented in total, with some past winners as well as some fresh faces being recognised for outstanding achievement and contribution to Irish Table Tennis over the course of the 2014/2015 season.

Shay Logue (pictured) spoke eloquently upon receiving the highly distinguished Joe Veselsky Award for his overall contribution to Table Tennis over a sustained period, particularly in ALSAA TTC, where he has made a major contribution over the past 15 years. He has also acted as NPC for both Leinster and Ireland and continues to provide a self-less service to TTI.  

National Champion Paul McCreery once again retained the Rhanbuoy Trophy for the Best Senior Male Player of the Year following another season of domestic dominance. On the womens side, Hannah Lynch Dawson was awarded for her stellar season with the Eleanor McKee Trophy for Best Senior Female Player - just rewards for the Cavan girls efforts in reaching the summit of the womens rankings. Zak Wilson made it a hat-trick of accolades for Ulster as he was presented with the Billy Marshall Award for Top Underage Player. This came on the back of a flawless campaign, particularly on home soil, where the Belfast boy finished the season as the undisputed number 1 Junior boy having won every ranking event he entered over the year. Finally, Rio 2016 hopeful Colin Judge claimed the other playing award up for grabs, as he was recognised following his successful defence at this years National Championships as the Para Player of the Year.

On the coaching side, West Cork's Alan Hurley was presented with the prestigious Ken Strong Male Coach of the Year award - namely for his outstanding contribution to Table Tennis at all levels throughout Munster, while Louise Long - who now works as a development coach with the Para Squads - was recognised for her contribution over the last 12 months with the Anna Kelly Female Coach of the Year Award. 


Meanwhile, Team McConkey comprising of Jamie and Stewart, Ryan and Rachel McConkey received the Press Officer of the Year Award following yet another season of outstanding delivery of coverage of domestic events. Maria Muame was also honoured as Stiga Volunteer of the Year and like the McConkeys, was deservedly recognised for the tireless contribution which so many of our volunteers are making to our sport each year.

Finally, accomplished junior player Donie Mullally of Griffeen Valley TTC was presented with the Vivienne Barry Fair Play Award while Amy-Lou Hayes and James Barry both received special TTI Certificates of Merit for their individual contributions over the season to Mountrath TTC and Kinneigh TTC respectively.   



TTI Awards 2014/2015 & Winners


Anna Kelly Female Coach of the Year:   Louise Long

Ken Strong Male Coach of the Year:   Alan Hurley
Billy Marshall Junior Award:   Zak Wilson
Para Award of the Year:    Colin Judge
Eleanor McKee Trophy: Best Senior Female Player of the Year:  Hannah Lynch-Dawson
Rhanbuoy Trophy: Best Senior Male Player of the Year:  Paul McCreery
Vivienne Barry Fair Play Award:  Donie Mullally
Press Officer of the Year:  Team McConkey (Jamie & Stewart)
Stiga Volunteer of the Year:  Maria Maume

Certificates of Merit: Amy Lou Hayes for work in Mountrath TTC  & James Barry for work in Kinneigh TTC and schools in Cork area

Joe Veselsky Award:   Shay Logue

comments powered by Disqus

Return to News

Upcoming Events

Download Calendar for Season 2017/2018

Leinster Senior Ranking No.3
Palmerstown Community School, Dublin, 27 - 28 January

Women’s British League
England, 27 - 28 January

Molnar International
Hungary, 1 - 4 February

Connacht Junior & Senior Open
Breaffy House, Mayo, 2 - 4 February