TTI Awards 2017: Calling for Nominees

10 March 2017

TTI Awards 2017: Calling for Nominees


Each season, Table Tennis Ireland recognise some of the outstanding performances of the season by presenting a number of awards to nominated affiliate members. The Award categories are listed below, and recognise exceptional performances in both the sporting achievements of players, and the voluntary contributions made by individuals in the development and promotion of our sport.

Table Tennis Ireland is now seeking nominations for these awards, which will be presented at this year’s AGM, provided individuals of sufficient merit are nominated. The Board of Table Tennis Ireland also reserves the right to submit nominations on its own behalf to the Awards Committee.


Launching the scheme, Director of Marketing Paul Dolan commented;  

 " The Awards Committee is now seeking nominations for the 2017 Table Tennis Ireland Annual Awards, which will be presented this year again at the AGM in early June. These  awards celebrate and honour not only the exceptional performances of the season but also the important significant contributions made by the Association's volunteers in supporting our sport throughout the country.

I encourage all members to submit their nominations to Mark at the TTI Office by Friday 21 April 2017."




All nominees must be affiliated to Table Tennis Ireland and be in good standing.



1: Joe Veselsky Award:  awarded in recognition of endeavour and achievement in administration; members must be over 35 years of age and have served a minimum of 5 years in administrative positions within table tennis.


2: Rhanbuoy Trophy:  awarded to the best male senior player of the season.


3: Eleanor McKee Trophy:  awarded to the best female senior player of the season.


4: Billy Marshall Award: awarded to the best Junior/Cadet/Under Age player of the season, taking into consideration the extent and scope of the players’ programme.


5: Vivienne Barry Fair Play Award: awarded to the Senior, Junior, Cadet or Underage Player who, over the season, acts within the rules and spirit of the game by demonstrating fair play, honesty and sporting behavior over winning at all costs.


6: Para Award of the Year: awarded to the player/coach/volunteer who has contributed most to para table tennis during the season.


7: Ken Strong Male Coach of the Year Award: awarded to the male coach who has contributed most to the achievements of the players under his tutelage.


8: Anna Kelly Female Coach of the Year Award: awarded to the female coach who has contributed most to the achievements of the players under her tutelage.


9: Press Officer of the Year: awarded to the voluntary press officer who has made the greatest contribution in publicizing the activities of his or her club/league/local association/province/committee. Assessment criteria will include his/her reporting of table tennis events and activities in newspapers, magazines and on radio/television.


10: STIGA Ireland Volunteer of the Year Shield: awarded to the person who voluntarily contributes his/her time & skills and/or has made a unique contribution to table tennis.


11: School/Club of the Year Award: awarded to an affiliated school or club, which supports its members, volunteers & coaches; demonstrates innovative ideas/projects to encourage members; supports and promotes the growth of local and national events including provincial schools leagues; encourages participation and player pathways; and is open and inclusive to all sections of the community.


12: International Performance of the Year: awarded to an individual or team recording an exceptional performance/s against an international player or team in a qualifying international event; performance/s must be significantly above the expected standard of the player/team, in qualifying events under the auspices of the ITTF.



All nominations must be submitted to Dave Heffernan, TTI Sports Executive Officer on the specified form by Friday 21st April 2017.  These will be assessed by an Association’s Awards Committee consisting including the TTI President and Chairman. The views of the Director of High Performance on Awards (b), (c), (d) and (l) and of the Director of Coaching on Awards (g) and (h) may be canvassed before the awards are finalized.

The Committee will present all awards at the Annual General Meeting in June 2017.

Certificates may be presented to some or all of the nominees. 


To download the nomination form please click here

To read the Awards Scheme please click here

comments powered by Disqus

Return to News

Upcoming Events

Download Calendar for Season 2017/2018

Senior Schools International
England, 23 - 24 June

National Para Camp
NUI Galway, Kingfisher, 15 July